Day 61, Krakow, March 10th 2012

Tea 61, 20 Year old Pu Erh, Herbaciarnia, Krakow

So, the 10th.  What I did on this day may come as a surprise to many of you, but I actually decided to return to Warsaw.  I have decided that I will attempt to stay in Warsaw for a little while. My next intended stop is the Ukraine, and after a bit of deliberation I decided the weather was still too cold there for me, and that I still wasn’t done with Warsaw, so I decided to come back, sit out the cold weather a while longer and get to know Warsaw a bit more.  This all hinges on finding somewhere cheap and easy to stay at for a month or so, but will probably be the case.

The morning was spent getting my stuff together, and then I went with Marta (Malgorzata’s flatmate, not Warsaw Marta), to the art school to have a look around the studios and see what their system is like (not the sort of system I agree with at all), and we talked about art and our passions and intentions with it for a while.  Then I went to town and to this tea house called Herbaciarnia.  This is tucked down a small staircase off of Florianska street in the old town that leads to the main square.  It was an amazing find.  The place is in the basement and the vaulted ceiling is bear brick and a bit like the little tea house under the church in Warsaw.  I ordered a tea, a 20 year old Pu Erh tea.  This was a great choice, it was a really amazing tea, one you could feel working, the warm glow you get in your cheeks and the tingle up your spine.  It was a really amazing, meditative tea.  Really wonderful.  A while spent there until it got a bit cold from all the people coming in and out of the door.  I paid, left the building, went to a milk bar for some simple but satisfying soup and salad and then went to the bus station, which it took me ages to find, getting lost in the train station because of all the construction work going on.  Then I got on the bus and headed back to Warsaw!

2 Comments on “Day 61, Krakow, March 10th 2012”

  1. I love this post…
    but I could be slightly biased b/c I fell in love with Krakow the first day I visited.
    😀


Leave a Reply

