Day 42, Warsaw, February 20th 2012

Tea 42: Green Rooibos ‘African Sun’, Marta and Ania’s Apartment, Warsaw.

PHEWWW!!!  Finally got the internet to work on my computer!  At long long long last!  Hopefully this will mean my postings will be back on schedule!  So, yes, today (or yesterday)…

I didn’t actually leave the apartment until really really late in the end.  And I managed to miss most of the sunshine!  That was a bit of a shame, but I think I needed the rest.  EVENTUALLY I made it to the Metro and took the train to Centrum.  I came back above ground and tried to figure out which direction was the right direction.  I took a punt and ended up going down Marszalkowska, heading South, and eventually back to the tube station I had gotten off the day before.  At least I had figured out some geography and not gotten totally lost!  After find myself back where I had started the day before I decided I would head to the Royal Park, Lazienkowsky.  The long Aleje Ujazdowskie, is lined with big embassy buildings and other parks.  It is quite a spectacular road.  I wandered down the road, popped into another park, paths thick with ice, slowly beginning to melt, a small hole in the ice acting and looking a lot like a bath just the right size for a duck.  Birds scrambled about for scraps of bread recently left by some kind samaritan.

Making it to Lazienkowsky I was first met by a huge sculpture of Chopin.  This is a really amazing looking sculpture, Chopin sitting beneath a stylized Willow tree.  Walking around the rear of the sculpture you realise you are at the top of a high mound of land, with one steep side leading down to the rest of the park.  I slowly scaled the slippery path down to the main area of the park.  A rather treacherous journey!  The park is huge, full of buildings for various purposes, cafes, amphitheaters, museums.  Ducks, and peacocks.  One wandered up to me, probably trying to figure out if I had anything it would like to eat, unfortunately I did not.  There was also a really beautiful Mandarin Duck and his partner.  I’ve never seen one of these up close before and he was very impressive. It was now approaching 5 and I had arranged to meet Marta after work and go for something to eat.  I wandered back out of the park.  Along the long embassy road again and back towards the Stary Mokotow district.

I met Marta outside of her work building and we walked past a lovely church lit up in the early evening light.  We then hopped onto a Metro train for one stop, jumped off again and found this little schizophrenic Chinese restaurant (the ceiling is covered in fake Grape Vines, suggesting it was once an Italian place.  We ordered some food, I had some Soy Noodles with vegetables and shrimps.    It was tasty, but much like the Baltic Countries I have visited, the Polish do not do much spice!  We ate our food and had a rather long and fruitless wait in a Post Office whilst Marta tried to track down a parcel that she was expecting, then it was time to head home.

Leave a Reply

