Day 37, Riga – Kaunas via Vilnius, February 15th 2012

Tea 37: Not tea, hot chocolate, Emils Gustavs Chocolate Shop, Riga

Today was a travel day, 1040 – 1645 on a bus.  Riga to Kaunas in Lithuania.  This bus was probably the nicest one so far, good leg room, good temperature, though a dubbed version of Fast and the Furious Five was maybe not the ideal ‘in coach entertainment’ choice!

I left the apartment in Riga earlier than I really needed to, but this was because I was determined to leave Riga on a high note.  And, at long last it worked!  I managed to track down the illusive Emil and the holy chocolate grail!  This made me exceedingly happy.  The perfect treat for 9:30am?  A cup of the gorgeous hot liquid chocolate.  This small but perfectly formed little cup provided me with a much needed and much appreciated chocolate high.  This hot chocolate was literally just melted chocolate in a cup, even those little bits that are left in the cup you see began to turn back into solid chocolate.  It was simply wonderful, only cost 1 lat and the lady that served me did so with a lovely smile and a warm bit of broken English conversation.  It was a great ending to a strange few days in Riga.  Thank goodness!  The little shop is in the central train station, and there is even a tea shop too, I think I probably should have just hung out there the whole time I was in Riga!

I got to the bus station, waited a little while then hoped onto the bus, a double decker beast of a thing, but as I said, nice and comfy. The journey didn’t feel too long either, we made a small stop somewhere, then another short stop in Vilnius, which looked, from the bus window, a bit like Riga…  Then I arrived at Kaunas.  I went into the bus station to ask about buses for the next leg of my trip, received friendly and efficient service and then waited for my next host, Lina.  She arrived a little after 5pm and after a quick pop to the supermarket we headed to her flat, which she shares with her husband.  The flat is lovely, on the top of a hill only a few minutes from the bus station and it has the most wonderful view of the city, I will try to get a photo of it in the coming days.  We sat and chatted, ate a little, drank a bit of brandy, which I actually enjoyed even though I didn’t think that it was my sort of drink.  Then  one of Lina’s friends arrived, we ate some dinner, a bit more chat and now it is time to sleep…

Goodnight.

5 Comments on “Day 37, Riga – Kaunas via Vilnius, February 15th 2012”

  1. Hmm, I was in Riga two weeks ago and I THINK I might have gotten something at the same coffee shop you mentioned. Sadly I forgot the name, but they did sell melted chocolate in a cup for 1 lat. Gonna check out your Riga posts now!

    • haha! nice! was it in the train station? i think that people should probably read your blog about riga, not mine, you sound like you had a better time than me!!?? where are you off to next?

      • Yup, it was at the train station, but I didn’t get the melted chocolate because I would have died from sugar overdose (I can’t tolerate things that are too sweet!) My Riga trip was too short but it’d be nice to see it in the summer. Next…probably Antwerp or Maastricht, if laziness doesn’t strike!

      • By the way I love your username, so creative (forgot to mention in my previous reply) =D

  2. Reading this tempts me to have a hot chocolate right now! Should leave for the cafe!


Leave a Reply

