Day 7, Denmark & Sweden, January 16th 2012

Tea 7: Earl Grey, Tom’s Apartment.

Today I left for Stockholm on the train. Packed up and now on the second leg of my travels.  Was sad to say good bye to everyone who had given me such a lovely week in Copenhagen, and such a gentle introduction into my travels.  My train left at 1137 from Kobenhaven H (Copenhagen Central station) and arrived in Stockholm Central at 1650.  The journey was comfortable and quiet, I even managed to get a little sleep.  The train service was much better than our UK equivalent.  The carriage was clean, comfortable and despite being near to the toilet you actually couldn’t smell it!  The journey was pleasant, very flat and easy going, the view was good, but nothing of huge note apart from one small town, I think called Nässjö which was beautifully picturesque. Set on a currently frozen lake with traditional Scandinavian buildings coloured yellow, but totally dominated by the 324m television mast that pokes up from the top of a hill behind the town.

I arrived in Stockholm and was greeted by Jessica, my host for the next few days, in the main hall of the train station.  We headed down onto the T-Bana and got on the metro train to her home in Skärholmen, to the west of the city.  At her home I was introduced to her flatmate and friend Tiffany.  A warm cup of black tea was made for me and a wonderful dinner of Tortellini pasta and sauce.  I’ve just met the Budgies, Conan and Candyfloss and am looking forward to a good nights sleep in a real proper bed!!!

Tea this morning was an ‘A.C. Perch’s The-Salon’ Earl Grey, fragrant and deep and enough caffeine to get me up and ready to face the fully laden rucksack!

Leave a Reply

