Day 6, Denmark, January 15th 2012

Tea 6: Chai Tea, Props cafe, Blågårds Plads.

Sorry for the terrible photograph of the tea, it looked much better on the camera screen for some reason.  Anyway, I guess a wee bit of last night before we go into today’s activities…

The Cuckoo’s Nest Cabaret at Byens Lys, Christiania.  What an amazing night!  We arrived a little late and missed a couple of acts, and just about managed to get in as the venue had been closed because it was so full, but gladly Inga’s skills got us in the door.  The pictures are from my phone so aren’t great but the first shows the MC at work, like a russian burlesque circus master she was brilliantly funny and an excellent performer, introducing all the acts perfectly.  There was everything from a fantastic brother and sister couple doing impossible things 15ft above the ground with only a pole for support to a fantastically risqué burlesque striptease and the amazing fire hooping tricks (second picture).  It was a brilliant night and really felt like I had seen something and been in something properly ‘Christianian’ and it was great to meet some of Inga’s friends who were all warm and friendly and seemed like great people.  As well as that I managed to meet ‘The Creature’, a performing arts piece that Inga has had past involvement in, its writhing and pulsing, screeching and moaning was mesmerizing and the experience was something I didn’t expect but very much enjoyed.  The event was held in Christiania’s Byens Lys, an old cinema venue with sand all over the floor and smoke in the air.  A brilliant space with a great atmosphere, after a short dance we headed home at around 2a.m. in the cold night air.

Today I headed to the Carlsberg Elephant Gate (Elefantporten), the main gate that sort of leads to the factory, though it seems to just split it in two really.  The Elephants stand as supports for an old building overpass.  They are basically life size and very impressive.  After managing to find my way there, almost got lost once but figured it out in the end, I headed into Søndermarken, a park with lots of trees and an art gallery, the gallery is closed in January, but it was nice to have a wander through the park.  I then desperately needed some food and to empty my bladder so I headed back into the city centre and grabbed a bite to eat, and after spending some time chilling out and warming myself back up I met up with an old friend from Glasgow, Ane, who took me for a short walk then for tea in a little cafe called Props, in the Nørrebro district of the city.  I had a chai tea and she had a coffee, after a little bit of surprising misunderstanding when two Danes attempted to speak Danish to one another, then resorted back to English!!!  The tea was warm and spicy, served in a glass and perfect for thawing my frozen fingers.

On the way home I stopped off for some Falafel in a pitta bread from Beyti, a good quality Kebab house just on Nørrebrogade.

Tomorrow I head for Stockholm!

A link to some really great photos from the Cabaret, not taken by me….

Leave a Reply

