Day 115 – 116, Cologne, May 4th & 5th 2012

Tea 115: Green Yunnan, Regina’s Apartment, Cologne

Thursday promised to rain in the afternoon, and so the morning I went for a short wander up the high street, mostly to see if the photos from my new old camera had been processed yet, they hadn’t so the delights of the Agfa are still a mystery to me.  Then whilst it was still sunny I decided to help by starting some gardening, mostly ‘harvesting’ dandelions to try and prevent them from dropping too many seeds onto the ground.  The person who had stayed in Regina’s flat whilst she was away was supposed to keep the garden clean and tidy, but it has turned into something of a jungle.  So I spent a while doing that before the promised rain did indeed arrive.

That evening a few of Regina’s friends came for dinner, which lasted a good few hours, well past 1a.m.  There had been a slight disaster with a savoury pancake mix that resulted in a last minute change of plan and therefore a bit of a delay in the food.  But we did eat – Avocado with a raspberry sauce, then sweet potato with a coconut sauce and sesame coated asparagus, then a great ginger carrot cake with more coconut and fresh fruits.  Tasty!

Saturday.  Today we had a slow morning then headed into town to buy some tickets for a gig that Regina found online that she wanted to go and see.  A band called Cursive, I’d never heard of them before, so thought I’d give them a go.  We went and bought the tickets, then looked in vain for a particular bicycle shop.  Then we stopped for a cup of coffee (sorry, tea sacrilege I know!).  We left for the gig later in the evening, around 9 and watched the band play.  The gig was kind of short, but the band seemed to be enjoying themselves.  The bassist and lead guitar are pretty old and tubby, so I think these guys have been doing the rounds for a few years now.  I can’t help imagining they probably work in Estate Agents or as salesmen during normal life!

After the gig we went back to the flat for a little while, I had a ‘power nap‘, then we headed to a club for a bit of a dance.  The club was good, though the predominant DJ, (the one we had not gone to listen to) was playing pretty crap stuff.  Someone informed us that he had been drinking solid for the past few days.  I think he might of noticed my looks of disgust at some of his choices though as I caught him staring at my undoubtedly blank face a couple of times.  The guy we had gone to hear ‘DJ Action Mike’ (ironic naming here) played some better stuff and we got some dancing in, though I didn’t manage to break into a sweat…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers